Buffalo Chicken Sliders

Hello,
I’m thinking about posting once a week…still not 100% on that though. I have been thinking about what I want to post since the minute I click the publish button from my last post. I have so many ideas that I want to just get off my mind, I don’t know where to start. This post is going to be a recipe, because 1. I love cooking 2. I love eating 3. This recipe was easy and delish.

So, to start this is a recipe I saw in the magazine EveryDay with Rachael Ray (the September 2014 issue). As usual, I followed the recipe for a guideline but I didn’t follow it to the letter. So here is the original recipe:

1 stick of butter, melted * 1 tbsp. of hot sauce, plus more for dousing * 1 lb of ground chicken * 1 tsp. salt * 1/2 tsp. of pepper * 1 tbsp. of vegetable oil * 4 oz. blue cheese, cut into 8 slices * 8 slider buns, split and toasted * 1 rib of celery, thinly sliced
In bowl, combine butter and 1 tbsp. hot sauce. In another bowl, mix chicken, salt, pepper, and 1/4 cup hot sauce butter. Form into 8 meatballs. In medium nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium. Add meatballs; cook until browned all over and cooked through, about 10 minutes. Off heat, douse meatballs with hot sauce. Top each with cheese. Cover skillet until cheese melts. Dip bun bottoms, toasted side down, into remaining hot sauce butter. Build sliders with buns, celery and meatballs. Makes 8.

There are also 12 other popular sliders http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/burger-recipes/most-popular-slider-recipes/1/

And here are a few of my personal changes and errors:

  • I didn’t have celery (I used it all for my pesto minestrone which was the recipe I was going to post but changed my mind after dinner last night). So, we didn’t have a crunchy factor to our sandwich.
  • I measured ABOUT 1/4 cup of hot sauce butter to the chicken mixture. My meatballs didn’t hold its own shape -lol- I guess that could mean I put too much hot sauce butter in it.
  • After going on a few trips to the store to look for a blue cheese block that I could slice, I found one at the commissary. However, when I went to slice it, it crumbled. So, I put crumbles on the top on my doused meatballs.
  • I suppose I took too long to douse and cheese my meatballs because when I covered the pan my cheese never melted. I ended up turning the stove back on for a moment and then turning it off and letting it sit.

No matter they turned out delish (although celery would have probably made it better).

Well, I hope you guys try this recipe and let me know how you like it and if you changed anything.

Leave a Reply

