Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hello Friends,

So I’m going to post another recipe. This time I was making some baked goods for a good friend of mine who is allergic to gluten and dairy. But for her birthday, I accepted the challenge. Also, with the “change” in the weather (it was like one day of cool below 80), I felt like pumpkin was the favor of choice.

Here’s the recipe and the site I got it from:

http://paleomg.com/pumpkin-chocolate-chip-muffins/

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins
Prep time
10 mins
Cook time
40 mins
Total time
50 mins
Serves: 5
Ingredients
  • ⅓ cup pumpkin puree
  • ⅓ cup maple syrup
  • ¼ cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup coconut flour
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
  • ⅛ teaspoon powdered ginger
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • ½ cup Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix together wet ingredients in a bowl: pumpkin puree, maple syrup, coconut oil, eggs, and vanilla extract.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together coconut flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves, powdered ginger, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Pour dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix well.
  5. Fold in chocolate chips.
  6. Use an ice cream scoop to scoop batter into 5 silicone baking cups.****
  7. Bake for 35-40 minutes

So, I did this recipe almost exactly because I have baked with coconut flour before and it is different than white flour in all sort of ways. One: you need a lot more liquid to flour. Two if you are using almond meal you need more baking soda/powder (can’t remember which at the moment). I did double this recipe and I ran out of (organic) maple syrup so I used about 1/4 cup of honey. I also made half the muffins without chocolate chips (lactose-intolerant) but the other half I use Special Dark Chocolate (less than 2% of milk) just in case she wanted one. And after I melted the coconut oil and started combining it with the eggs (really the only “cold” item on the list), the oil started to solidify. So I took some time to try and break the oil up, but shortly gave up. I will just rethink the order I combine the ingredients.  And my only “mistake” was I used paper baking cups (because I didn’t think there would be a huge problem) but the coconut oil went straight through them, so I suggest actually using silicone baking cups.

So, try them and enjoy them. They were so so so good. I have made paleo and coconut flour and no milk baked goods before and they were dry or “heavy”. But these things are far from that!

See you soon

Leave a Reply

